"Awful - You are treated like an inconvenience"

About: Cheltenham General Hospital

Anything else?

I am being treated as an outpatient. I had tests done and had to wait nearly a year for the results despite me and my GP chasing. I was then told by telephone I might need surgery but could not be given details on the telephone. I was left to wait and worry again for months as no appointment came through due to more administrative errors. In the end I had to pay to see the consultant privately just to get my test results. I was told I would be referred to a surgeon for an appointment. Due to more administrative errors this has not been done. I still have no appointment and the staff in the admin departments simply do not care. I have had no choice but to raise a complaint to try to get the situation resolved. Incredibly frustrating and distressing experience. From my own experience, if you hae a choice get referred somewhere else.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cheltenham General Hospital

Really sorry to hear this. It sounds like you have already made a formal complaint which is good as it will allow us to investigate this in more detail and understand any issues we need to address. If you haven't made a complaint but would like to discuss your concerns with someone, please do contact our PALS team on 0800 019 3282 or email pals.gloucestershirehospitals@glos.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful