"Poor aftercare."

About: Addenbrooke's Hospital

Anything else?

I was disappointed with the level of care after my son was brought back from Maxillofacial surgery.

He was in a lot of pain and was given painkillers and was told he would get more on the ward.

The sister then approached my son and gave him a syringe to administer the medication. I had to stop my son and said I think it needs to be taken orally. I asked the Sister and she snapped "yes". They did not provide a receptacle to spit out the mouth wash.

The discharge form indicated the Hospital would give him some medication to take home but the nurse said they do not give any medication out.

I was really disappointed as the service started well but the after care was very poor.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Addenbrooke's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your's son experience was not acceptable. The aftercare you have described was very poor. I am going to take the following actions in response to your comments:

Because your son's age is unclear, I can't tell whether your son was taken to a paediatric ward or an adult surgical ward. To cover both bases I will share the comments with the two relevant Divisional Nurses (for Surgery and Paediatrics) so that the nursing care and attitudal issues can be addressed.

I will also bring these matters to the attention of the Clinical Director (most senior doctor) within Maxillofacial Surgery so that she can remind all of the consultants about the importance of accurate discharge summaries, especially in relation to discharge medication.

I will of course be able to follow up in greater detail if you could share further details with us via PALS by emailing pals@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

On behalf of the hospital I am very sorry for the poor experience you have described.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful