"Lack of concern at ultrasound scan"

About: Wycombe Hospital / Maternity

(as a relative),

Wife with gestational diabetes asked to have a scan before a normal diabetes clinic. Previously child had been measured at 97th percentile.

Sonographer measured child at 50th percentile and casually said "oh I've probably under-measured". Diabetes nurse then said "well I've seen worse changes than from 97th to 50th - let's just do another scan in 2 weeks".

No one seemed remotely concerned about what an apparently dramatic fall in relative size might mean for baby. No one reassured us. No one suggested we have another scan sooner than a fortnight.

Terrible care with no thought for patient experience. End result was that we chose to switch hospitals to one with much better appreciation of maternity care.

And next scan? 95th percentile. So to top it all off the Wycombe sonographer was wrong by a large degree.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

I am really sorry to hear about your experience and that you did not get the reassurance you were after or information explained to you fully. I will make sure that this is passed back to the teams involved.

We do try to improve our services based on the comments we receive from patients and relatives. Please consider contacting our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) if you haven't done already. They will be able to look into this matter further for you if you would like. They are contactable on 01494 425882 or via email at PALS@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk.

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story