"Discharging before problem has been rectified"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

Anything else?

A relative, a woman in her 40's with diabetis has been in hospital for six weeks, she has had numerous blackouts, the latest resulting in broken ribs, and they are no nearer to diagnosing the best treatment. Her blood pressure is very low and they say that if it is related to the heart, a pacemaker may be the answer. She is still having blackouts and the heart test has not yet been done but they are discharging her. She sleeps in an upstairs bedroom so it is hoped that she does not suffer a blackout when coming down stairs. How does a patient suffer broken ribs through a fall due to a blackout when there are supposed to be nursing staff in attendance. A horrible hospital that should be inspected at the earliest opportunity along with Blackpool and East Lancs etc.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I’m very sorry to hear of your concerns. I’m sure, however, that you will appreciate that due to patient confidentiality we can’t comment further on any individual specific concerns via this website. I'd encourage you to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01204 390193 who will be happy to assist you and advise you on how we can look into this further.

Anne Cleary, Professional Lead, Acute Adult Care.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful