"No wrist identification band though prescribed..."

About: Watford General Hospital

Anything else?

Having been through a lengthy complaint with WGH I vowed to never return. Unfortunately my son would not have made the trip else where. Children's a and e were excellent. Once admitted my son received various drugs though was not wearing a identification band throughout. After the last complaint we had been assured the policy would be followed and extra checks made. My son was having regular nebulisers and continual oxygen as his SATS were falling dangerously low, in the night when my sons SATS were dropping nod I was trying to give my son oxygen which unsurprisingly he was becoming agitated with nurse turned off the SATS machine and did not return for ten minutes, she looked surprised I had turned the machine back on! One nurse was patronising, unhelpful and a liar.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Watford General Hospital

Thank you for taking the trouble to comment through our NHS Choices page. You’re clearly unhappy about your son’s experience within Watford General’s paediatrics service and we apologise for the distress that this has caused you both.

Due to patient confidentiality we are unable to discuss individual cases. However, the Trust is fully committed to ensuring that all of our patients and their relatives have the right to be treated with respect and communicate in the right way. We sincerely apologise that you feel that this did not happen in this case.

In order to resolve your concerns, our senior clinical colleagues would like to investigate this issue thoroughly. Could you please contact us directly through the Trust’s Complaints Team at wherts-tr.complaintsteam@nhs.net and we would be happy to provide a detailed response.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful