"camden crisis care mental health"

About: Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust / Adult mental health Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust / Crisis resolution Camden PCT / Primary care mental health service

(as the patient),

I had support and help but then the Trust closed centres and teams and I was left with no support and no social worker or psychiatrist. My GP can't help with the medication or change it as he says a psychiatrist has to take responsibility. However they shut the services so I don't have a psychiatrist and my anti psychotic medication isn't working and I am frightened of what will happen.

I have been in hospital many time on Section 3. My GP rang crisis team and said I needed bed in hospital. They said no beds as full and I would have to see psychiatrist but there is long waiting list for the community psychiatrists, This doesn't sound right to me or my GP or MIND.

Before this, if I was unwell and danger to myself or others I would be assessed as emergency and admitted to hospital and sometimes sectioned. I think they have decided only to give help to people who need to be sectioned. I have no one to tell that I am unwell now and crisis team say its not their responsibility. So who do I tell now? I think this is because they cut all the services in Camden.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Karl Heidel, Head of Communications and Engagement, Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

Dear Camden person

We would like to apologise profusely that it has taken so long to respond to your comments. This site was not being monitored by Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust. However, it is now and we have ensured correct processes are now in place to ensure a timely response to all future complaints or comments.

Regarding your comments, we are sorry to read that you have not been happy with your experience of our Camden crisis team.

We are sorry that you have been disappointed with our services. You say that changes in service provision have affected you personally. You also say that there has not been an effective plan of care established between your GP and the services that we provide.

Your comments are from February 2013. It is true that services in the Trust have undergone restructuring, but we still have a responsibility to ensure that there is responsive, 24 hour care available to people in crisis.

We hope that the situation has resolved as our services have bedded down, however if you are still experiencing a problem then please call our advice and feedback team on 020 3317 3117 or email feedback@candi.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story