"Great doctors, rubbish telephone service."

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

My son is due to have an operation on his ears and i can say the consultant is fantastic. With him there was no messing about. Unfortunately its the in between bits that are so much hard work.

You cannot get through to ENT on the phone and when you ask to speak to someone you get an answer phone and no-one calls back.

Waiting time in ENT is always over an hour, which is awful when you are taking 2 kids and expecting them to sit for over an hour and a half.

I am still waiting on an operation date for my son so fingers crossed we get one soon.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Hi Hayley,

Thank you for your comments regarding the ENT doctors. May we firstly apologise for the more negative aspects of your experience. We have unfortunately had a shortage of staff in the main ENT office and this has contributed to the experience that you have had re: communications. We have just completed a recruitment campaign and look forward to several new recruits starting with us in next few weeks. This will improve the answering of calls in the main ENT office.

Again, may we also apologise for your wait in clinic. Whilst we always try to see patients in booked order and to time, an emergency will always be seen more urgently and this can cause delays in clinic. Occasionally the appointments also run behind if a particular patient requires more input at there consultation. The clinic staff should always keep patients informed of any delays and we're sorry if this did not happen for you.

Your feedback is really important for us as it allows us to continually review and improve the service. Staff will be reminded of their duties in communicating any delays with patients for future.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful