"Not happy with my visit - Jan 2013"

About: Cumberland Infirmary

Anything else?

Firstly I went to Maple ward for a pre-op assessment appointment was at 1pm, after seeing a lot of staff congregated in one room eating I got seen at 2pm with no apology. Then on day of my op was asked why I took one of my diabetic tablets that I shouldn't, but was not told no to. (communication problem) when seeing the Dr, he had left the previous patients details on the computer, and left us in room on our own for a few mins, this surely is a breech of data protection, I could see name, address etc, it was hard to miss. Anyway, once I came round from my op at 1030 I never got any food or drink untill 1:15. A few hours later by which time my drip had finished ages ago, I was asked why I had not got up to walk around, my drip was attached to a device on the wall... I explained this and was told it would be removed, a hour later still not removed and was asked again why I hadn't moved around, seriously could they not see why. Then I was asked if my pain killers were kicking in to which I replied "i havnt been given any".

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cumberland Infirmary

Thank you for letting us know about the poor experience you received at the Cumberland Infirmary. Firstly we would like to apologise for this as it was unacceptable that you had to wait for an hour when you felt that staff were available to attend to you. We know it is always an anxious time waiting for assessments and if there was to be a delay, we are surprised that you were not informed about this. Also it was inappropriate not to inform you about your diabetic medicine at this pre-assessment review. We take the confidentiality of all patient data and information very seriously and regularly remind doctors that they should always ensure patient notes are not visible within their clinics. We are sorry that you were not provided with a drink and some food when you felt that you needed it. There is sometimes a delay following an anaesthetic to ensure a patient is fully settled after their operation. Our senior nursing sisters now carry out intentional rounding on all our wards at regular intervals to ensure that patients’ needs are being met in terms of pain reviews, mobility, privacy and dignity etc. and this allows patients to raise any matters of concern. We hope this has reassured you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story