"What an absolute joke"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

Anything else?

Booked in for an operation, all going fine, operation is tomorrow and i get a call from some lady saying "hello, sorry but your operation is cancelled, we'll contact you in a month" ... no consideration for me or any plans i have, i had built up in my mind that i was going to go through with this and now i have to go through another month of distress, untill the next time when it will almost probably be cancelled again. I had arranged for a substitute to take my place at work and now i am going to have to tell him there is no need, resulting in me messing someone else about just as i have been messed about. I wouldn't mind so much if it was a couple of weeks before, but 12 hours before the operation is absolutely ridiculous. I am goin to have to go through at least another month of waiting around just to be let down again because I'm not a priority. There was absolutely no indication that this would even be a possibility and it is a joke that the NHS is compulsary. I am absolutely furious with the service and consideration and if I was at work and treated a customer like I had been treated I would've been sacked.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

We do understand the anxiety and inconvenience caused to patients if their operation has to be postponed – especially at short notice, and I apologise for this. When this happens it is usually because we need available beds for patients whose need is very urgent. I’m very sorry if you feel you were not given adequate explanation and I have taken this up with the team that contact patients if there are postponements. I can assure you that we do our best to rearrange postponed operations as soon as possible. Please do contact me via switchboard if you wish to speak to me further. Brenda Mason, Manager, ENT.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful