"Acute Surgical Ward"

About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

Anything else?

After being admitted o this ward and awaiting a diagnosis of my painfull problem, I found that the staff were very distressed and upset with the Head Nurse they are working under. At 15:30hrs I asked what was happening with regards to any visit from a consultant and told that the he was in surgery, Considering I have been here allday it amazing nothing has been done to give me an indication of my problem.

To top it all one poor patient had her dressing changed and the staff thereafter washed their hand in the sink within the ward, When we requested drinking water, this was taken from the same sink, Hygeine is diabolical.

Shame on this hospital

Here i am almost a day later 16:00hrs and still waiting to know whats happening.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment.

As you are still in our care, we have brought your concerns to the immediate attention of the Sister in charge of your ward. It would be inappropriate for us to discuss your personal details online; however we understand that the doctor who has already seen you has requested that you are also seen by a consultant, unfortunately the consultant is in theatre; however the Sister will continue to make the necessary arrangements.

We have asked the Sister to look immediately into the hygiene issues that you have also raised and offer our apologies.

If you would like to discuss this, or any other matter in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact the Sister or Matron in charge who will be happy to assist you. Alternatively you can contact in confidence, our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01539 795 497.

We place great value in the fact that local people continue to choose our hospitals and we openly encourage patients and visitors to give us their feedback.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful