"Had to sit on a bench outside and wait for a..."

About: Orsett Hospital

Anything else?

I took my pregnant friend to Orsett hospital minor injuries department as she had fallen over and damaged her back. We arrived at 7.32pm as we hit a little bit of traffic, fully aware the hospital shuts at 8pm. There was a sign on the door saying last patient in at 7.30pm so upon pressing the buzzer i was told to wait outside whilst they sent a nurse down! My friend was in a lot of pain (she also has a metal rod in her back which was explained to the nurse), was made to sit on a bench in the freezing cold and was told to take paracetomal. I am absolutely disgusted with the service, they offered no examination and the nurse was acting so rudely toward my friend. I just cannot believe that for the sake of 2 minutes they would not book her in to be seen properly, it was pretty clear they were all ready to shut and go home early as all stuff already had their coats on. I will now be avoiding this hospital at all costs.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Anthony Wisdom Centre

I am sorry for the time taken to respond to your review, it has only recently come to our attention that you have not received a response.

I am sorry to hear of your poor experience. I have contacted the Integrated Care Director for Basildon/Brentwood and Assistant Director of Adult Services to request that an investigation is carried out to look into the concerns you have raised. As we cannot respond to these concerns on an open forum, we would welcome the opportunity to hear from you further and invite you to contact our Complaints Team on 0300 555 1201 ext. 66690 or by email at nelftcomplaints@nelft.nhs.uk at the earliest possible opportunity.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful