"Horrific, horrible time, traumatised beyond belief..."

About: Harrogate District Hospital

What I liked

One nice lovely lady working in the maternity unit

What could be improved

Where does one start? Send all staff on a training course to improve empathy and sympathy to start with. Learn how to communicate properley between themselves. stick to correct information. Ensure that they have all the information to give to a scared and worried patient.

Anything else?

I think that systems need to be changed.

staff need serious retraining

A main point of contact should ensure all information is correctly passed to other staff.

promises should be kept

teach staff to not move goalposts

Understand that not all patients behave the same and behave accordingly.

Don't tell patients one thing and then do something else.

Learn to accept complaints and fix the problems instead of trying to blame patients.

Horrible experience which was never going to be nice but made ten times worse by incompetent horrible uncaring staff. I fail to see how it is acceptable to behave in such a way ion a hospital. One that should be caring and supportive and helpful it being the maternity suite an all.

Truly appalled that such people are working in the profession and are allowed to behave in such a way to patients.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Harrogate District Hospital

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you did not feel the care you received with us was satisfactory. The Trust always aims for the very highest standards of patient care and is keen to learn any lessons when we do not get it right.

We would be pleased to receive full details of your experience so that we can investigate it further. If you would like us to follow this up, please contact our Patient Experience Team at Harrogate District Hospital, Lancaster Park Road, Harrogate HG2 7SX, telephone (01423) 555499 or email thepatientexperienceteam@hdft.nhs.uk

Please again accept my apologies that you did not have a good experience with us.

Chris Watt

Head of Communications

Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful