"OK. This window should not be obligatory. This..."

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

What I liked

Quick an efficient.

What could be improved

This website is extremely difficult to use and access. Also it keeps crashing when I try to submit a message. I think you must be trying to limit access deliberately. Only by being determined have I managed to get through eventually. Please give this comment priority.

My upper endoscopy in November at Shrewsbury hospital was done quickly and efficiently.

The worst bit was the local anaesthetic spray at the start. I would have welcomed a few moments then to rinse my mouth with plain water to reduce the amount of the spray that I swallowed and inhaled. Also afterwards a further chance to rinse would have been good. The nurse told me to ‘swallow, everything works’ No, - swallowing does not feel normal when the back of the throat is numb! Is local anaesthetic spray really necessary? I am generally a hardy type and can put up with quite a lot of discomfort!

Anything else?

This website is terrible to use! You must improve it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your care and treatment from the Trust and sorry to hear that you found the local anaesthetic uncomfortable. Having spoken to nurses in the team, I understand that having a local anaesthetic is a good idea but they are sorry to hear that your experience was not good - you have have experienced more discomfort after the procedure if you had not had it. Unfortunately the Trust does not have any direct control over this national NHS Choices website so I hope that they have already taken your feedback on board, but if not you may want to contact their help desk at http://www.nhs.uk/aboutNHSChoices/Pages/ContactUs.aspx Thanks again for sharing your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful