"Hospital Comment"

About: Leicester General Hospital

What I liked

some nurses are pleasant - they mean well.

What could be improved

Ward 23 - a shambles!!


My mum is currently still an inpatient there, this is what has happened, so far:

1) She has been treated badly by the Surgeon on her first consultation with him - very rude.

2) Given antibiotics intraveneously - by accident - when not prescirbed them - nurse owned up tho this.

3) She is newly diabetic (type 1) and her blood sugar levels were not monitored for the first 4 days - and when checked it was 26!

4) She also has sleep apnia so needs the special machine each night. Due to exhaustion feel asleep without this one night which is very risky.

I dread to think what next - think I need to complain :(

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

I am sorry to hear about your experience. Your concerns are being looked into by senior staff in charge of this service. We encourage you to raise issues with ward staff when you have them, so we can try to resolve them sooner, however, if you continue to have concerns which you feel have not been adequately addressed please contact our Patient Information and Liaison Service on 08081 788337 More details can be found here: http://www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk/patients/patient-welfare/patient-information-and-liaison-service/

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful