"day time excellent, night time lack of staffing"

About: Colchester General Hospital

What I liked

The doctors in the emergency assessment unit were fantastic. It was the first time my child would stay in hospital and at 16 this could have been a big truama for him. The doctor`s I cant thank enough and they covered my sons health care fully inorder to find out what was causing his illness. I felt he was being cared for in the best possible way durring his stay. Nursing staff were also fantasic caring, kind and happy. Food was good and support staff helpful . Cleaning staff were also lovely chatty and friendly.

What could be improved

I felt at night when we were first admitted to EAU it did let the dept down. Lack of staffing seamed to be the problem it did take 4 hours from arrival at the dept to see the doctor.

In the morning when the day team arrived the Consultant came to my sons bed he talked about what had happened, he then told us the treament plan we were moved, after 2 hours had passed we still had not got any treatment or tests that the doctor had requested.

The nurse that was on our ward area did not seem to know how to get on with her duties.

She spent most of the time explaining and excusing herself for the lack of knowledge with some of the equipment.

After 3 hours the doctor came back to ask if the blood tests and treaments had been carried out we said no nothing as yet. He was not happy about that and did the blood tests himself and told the nurse to make him a priority. That nurse did let the dept down, other people within the ward also were not hapy with her attittude towards them.

Anything else?

I would be happy to return to the department but would feel vulnerable durring the night shift hours.Nursing staff were always really busy just to keep up with the basic demands i felt i wanted to help them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Colchester General Hospital

I apologise you’ve not had a good patient experience.

We try really hard to improve our services based on the comments we receive from our patients, their relatives or carers.

We would like the opportunity to discuss your experiences more fully and to apologise in person. If you are willing I would appreciate it if I could ask the matron to contact you. Could you email me and tell me the ward you were on please?

Many thanks


Paul Searle, Head of Communications

Colchester Hospital University NHS Foundation Trust


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful