"staff s/b made aware of patients with sight..."

About: Watford General Hospital

What I liked

Some of the staff were very helpfu and read my relatives file and knew they were visually impaired.and helped them moving around the ward.

What could be improved

Ensure patients who need extra care (there were three cases in the ward that had mental issues)are dealt with by staff able to cope and to try and avoid stressing out the other patients in the ward

Anything else?

There were several pieces of equipment left in the corridor and on one occasion workmen had left their tools and sawdust or similar was left on the floor!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Watford General Hospital

Thank you for taking the trouble to comment through our NHS Choices service. We are always concerned to hear of any patients who are unhappy with the care, service or hospital environment they are staying in.

Without full details of your specific case it is difficult to comment. However, we would like to assure you that our nursing staff who work on specialist wards have had the relevant training to deal with the specific needs of patients with various conditions, such as dementia.

With regards to workmen on the ward, the Trust has been carrying out a refurbishment in order to improve the environment for patients and staff. Unfortunately due to the acute nature of the ward it could not be closed to carry out this work. The Matron would like to apologise for any inconvenience this caused you and would like to reassure you that the refurbishment is now complete and the equipment has been cleared.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful