"Staying at Lings Bar was a bad experience for my..."

About: Lings Bar Hospital / Inpatient nursing and rehabilitation

What I liked

Cosmetically the hospital is set in a lovely area with beautiful gardens etc.

Easy access,

Good times for visiing.

What could be improved

Communication from hospital staff to patients and family members was extremely poor indeed.

Whilst my father was in Lings Bar, he was not very happy and became quite low in mood.

It was very evident from myself and other family members visiting that there was a lack of duty of care . eg; my father had slippers put on the wrong feet, never had his socks put on , He reported that some staff were quite rude in the way he was spoken to.

He was never offered to have a bath there at all,despite being there for a number of weeks. Not even sure that they have shower facilities there.

Since leaving this hospital he has improved in mood 100%

It is quite evident in the evenings that there are not enough staff available on the wards .

I would not want my father to return to this hospital at all unless dramatic changes were made to the running of the hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sara Jane Ashmore, Interim General Manager for Rushcliffe, Rushcliffe Locality, County Health Partnerships

Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us as it helps us to understand how we can make improvements to our service. I would really like to be able to discuss this with the ward team that it involves to ensure that we don’t have a repeat of any of the issues you mention.

What I can say is that all wards have baths and shower facilities and all patients are offered the use of these on a regular basis. If patients decline to use them then a strip wash in either the bathroom or at the bedside is undertaken with as much support and assistance the individual patients requires. We do place emphasis on encouraging as much independence as possible as part of the rehabilitation programme of care we provide but appreciate that this is not always appropriate for all patients in our service and an individualised care plan is developed ideally with the support of family members where possible and appropriate to do so.

I am very sorry that your fathers slippers were on the wrong feet at visiting – we do appreciate it if families can inform us of any instances where care is not as family would expect at the time so we can review the situation and discover why this is the case and how we can put it right. Sadly patients can alter their own footwear whilst sitting and staff may not have seen that this was the case before the family have visited. (it is not clear if this was a one off instance or repeated.)

Staff are aware of their responsibilities and professional requirements and if they have been rude I would be really interested to know more about this so that I can fully investigate the issues raised with the staff involved. We are sorry if staff have been less than warm and caring in their approach to any patient in our care.

We do have a programme of exercise groups running in the wards and one ward does have a group each week to stimulate the mind by doing word association exercises and reminiscence group work with a volunteer this always helps to promote good mood with the patients who choose to attend.

The staffing levels are set to a minimum safe level and we monitor this closely to ensure that the patients and staff are kept as safe as possible.

I am really very sorry that this experience has left you feeling so disappointed in the service we provide and I would be happy to discuss this in more detail with you if you wish to contact me as it is very difficult to provide a specific response as all the details are not available for me to check with the patient, family and staff in this case.

Sara Jane Ashmore

Head of In Patient Nursing/Matron

County Health Partnerships

Lings Bar Hospital





Direct Line 01158837428 Internal 37428

Mobile 07817988281

Email - sarajane.ashmore@nottshc-chp.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful