"Lack of care for Crohns Disease"

About: Southampton General Hospital

(as the patient),

I have been waiting for an operation for a stricture for a very long time.

I think it was the beginning of last year, that I was taken into hospital by ambulance because my bowel was blocked. I was given heavy painkillers and kept in, eventually it was discovered I had a narrowing of my large colon.

I then (as an out patient) had to have a number of colonoscopies all of which were very painful, one was to try and stretch the narrowing but that was a complete failure. I was eventually told I would have to have surgery, that was many months ago. To date I have had no surgery. I have had two pre-op appointments cancelled by the hospital (Southampton General Hospital).

During this very long time I have been unable to eat properly and have suffered pain, blockages, and extreme fatigue on a regular basis.

I also have Mental Health problems which means I suffer severe anxiety and severe bouts of depression all worsened by my poor health. I have suffered considerably this year as I have got so run down that I am now unable to attend my mental health group. Despite the Hospital being aware of my Mental Health problems and the extreme length of time I have had this stricture they have not kept up any regular appointments with me or sent me to a nutritionist or given me any support, or indeed shown that they have any interest in my current health.

I feel totally unsupported by the GI Consultant and feel that the long wait for my operation has caused me immense suffering and distress. The Hospital have failed me completely and I feel that I should be referred to another Hospital who can treat me with respect and dignity and reasonable care.

I believe that the long wait has compromised my health and I am now extremely concerned that I am no longer in a fit state to endure an operation and the risks have increased considerably due to me being left so long with what is a serious condition.

If I do find another suitable Hospital I believe that I would still be left on a long waiting list. I do not have any funds to go Private, although it is obvious that I need Professional help of a specialist who is able to examine my case and urgently address these issues.

I think Southampton General Hospital have severely compromised my health by their lack of care due to their failings in treating me within a reasonable time therefore I do not trust them to operate on me safely.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the problems you have been having whilst you wait for your surgery; we were so sorry to hear you have not had a positive experience. Please contact our patient support service team on 023 8079 6325 as soon as possible and they will be able to find out more about your individual case and arrange for you to either speak to the most appropriate person about the reasons for the delays or do this for you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful