"A hospital operating on the cusp of patient..."

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

What I liked

Willingness of the medical doctor to see me before clinic to address my concern regarding waiting times and my ongoing health issue. That showed genuine concern for which I'm very grateful.

What could be improved

My experience is that patient pathway management, certainly in Urology, has collapsed at Stepping Hill. I was referred in February 2012 and am still undergoing diagnostics! Their approach has been lackadaisical and tardy. The 18 week RTT, announced with such fanfare as a right under the NHS constitution is treated with contempt at this hospital. Although I understand the pressures that exist on all secondary care facilities currently, the 18-week RTT is not an option that can be suspended, or ignored, because an acute hospital finds it inconvenient. The performance of Stepping Hill is troubling as it may be a proxy for deeper issues with hospital management.

Anything else?

Avoid if you can!

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent experience with us. I am concerned to learn of the events as you have described them and I am keen to look into this matter further. However, before I am able to do so I will need some personal information so that I can locate you on our Hospital Patient Administration System and commence investigation. If this is something you would like to pursue, please contact a member of the Patient and Customer Services team directly on 0161 419 5678.

Many thanks for your feedback, and we look forward to discussing with you further very soon.

Emma Harney

Case Officer

Patient and Customer Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful