"Disapointing, but not the worst."

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

What I liked

Clean, was seen as quickly as possible. staff were friendly and I didn't have to wait for them to finish conversations with co workers. Wasn't that bad a wait even though there weren't many people there

What could be improved

well I went in to see if I had glass in my foot, after being assured that there wasn't any glass in it, I was told to put on a plaster and just let it heal. So I did. a week later it had all but healed but still really hurt to walk on and I couldn't work out why catching a skin tag hurt so much, on closer inspection it was a lump of glass sticking out of my foot.

the staff didn't communicate between each other and kept telling me to go to the walk in centre even though the walk in centre kept telling me to go to A&E as they didn't have an x-ray machine and couldn't help me. Wasn't given an X-ray anyway, which was a shame as they would have found the glass and saved me from having to pull it out myself after it had grown into the cut.

This isn't the first time that I've been dismissed like that, my boyfriend was told he had nothing wrong with him just a stress headache and the next day had broken out in shingle sores. they then couldn't tell him how long he couldn't be in clinic for and asked him how long he thought he should be away from people.

Anything else?

Staff handled an upset old man very well, were focused on work and working quickly, just a shame i was dismissed as a drunken student when I wasn't

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

I was very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website about your experiences in our Accident and Emergency Department. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

Eve Koutidou

Patient Experience & Quality Project Officer

Central Manchester University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful