"Poor administration in the Orthondontic department"

About: Derriford Hospital / Orthodontics

(as the patient),

I received a phonecall from the department to ask why I hadn't come for my two hour appointment, I explained that I had never received a letter about my appointment, the second time it has happened with the same department!

It is such a waste of valuable resources for such a thing to happen, not only did it waste an appointment, but it displaced other patients who could have been seen, my new appointment has denied another patient treatment.

I did not receive a telephone call to agree a date and I never received an automated reminder, I thought all of this was standard?

I know the hospital tries it's best, but I can't help but think simple things like this should be done well which might help sort out all the re-work and duplication.

Come on Plymouth Hospitals, you can do better and I eagerly await a response!

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Mary Anderson, Senior Quality Facilitator, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Thank you for your posting. I was very sorry to read that you did not receive a letter notifying you of your appointment and whilst the Trust is unable to comment on the specific content of your posting without more details, we would certainly welcome the opportunity to do so. It is a concern that as a result of a breakdown in communication for whatever reason, you have missed an appointment and the appointment could not be given to another patient. I do hope that you will feel able to contact us so that we can investigate in more detail. PALS can be contacted at plh-tr.PALS@nhs.net. We look forward to hearing from you and offer sincere apologies for the disruption you have experienced.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful