"Fell at first hurdle, due to lack of a doctor,..."

About: St Mary's Hospital (Newport)

What could be improved

I waited two months for an appointment on September 14th. The day before that appointment someone rang me and said "We're cancelling your appointment tomorrow because we don't have a doctor available to run the clinic". Why? Have you lost him somewhere? I know St Mary's is a hopeless rabbit warren for those who don't know the layout but this takes the biscuit.

When I was asked what date the new appointment was being set for, I was told "I don't know, we will have to arrange for you to go to a different clinic". Wow, fantastic level of care, St Mary's. We all know you're short of resources but for goodness' sake, there are plenty of capable people on the Island who would be very glad to come and sort out your administration and customer care for you.

If you imagine that a patient who is awaiting a hospital appointment might be in discomfort, and might well have had to make arrangements with employers in order to attend, cancelling appointments (especially at the last moment) should only be a last ditch event. In this case, it didn't come across to me as though you thought about the consequence of your poor planning and administration.

I should be a more generous person and not share this on your website, but I'm not feeling well, I have a job that is suffering because I'm not feeling well, and if I can't do my job well enough I'll eventually end up without a livelihood. Two months was long enough to wait. Get yourselves sorted out!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Mary's Hospital

The Trust are sorry to learn of of the issues that you had in relation to your cancellation of the clinic.

The Trust do not like to take the decision to cancel the clinics at short notice however, on occasions due unforeseen circumstances it does necessitate us doing so. Please be assured that your concerns have been shared with the appropriate management, and should you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact a Patient Experience Officer, in the Trust Quality Team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful