"Very good."

About: University College Hospital

What I liked

I was very happy with the care I was given during my stay, the treatment I received, and the friendliness and competence of the staff. The food was fine once I realised you should avoid the sausages!

What could be improved

The information I received in advance might have been better (I only received copies of the anaesthetic choices and pain relief choices leaflets). There are leaflets on the web site about what to expect when going in for knee surgery, but I was not given a copy of these and only found them by going on the site. Further they did not correspond to what happened, for example it says I should have been posted a "Furniture Measurement Form" to fill in, and to have attended "Joint Recovery Information Session" before going into hospital: neither of these happened. I would also have like a bit more information of the facilities available at the hospital (cafe, shop etc.).

My main complaint is about the paid for television/film service which I though poor for the approx £5 a day charged. I could list about 15 faults, the main ones were:

* The picture froze for about 30% of the time and the sound was missing as well for 10% of the time, unless watching in the middle of the night - I assume this is a lack of bandwidth on the network. It made trying to watch the films I had paid for pointless.

* The service was advertised as including internet access, I assumed this was better than the free access I had already been using, but it was identical. It was very restricted, the main issue is it only allows one window to be open at once so if you use one of the many web sites that open new windows when you click on a link it crashed, rebooted Windows, and took 5 minutes to get back to where I was.

* The adverts said it included "Catch up TV", I assumed this meant access to the many catch up services available on the internet but it meant only access to 25 selected ITV programs (this restriction was mentioned in another place).

I believe the adverts are misleading.

I would like to know who provides this service so I can complain directly to them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University College Hospital

Thank you for your comments regarding your treatment under the Orthopaedic department at UCLH. I was very pleased to read that you were happy with the care that you received, and I have passed on your kind words about our staff to the teams concerned.

I would like to apologise that you were not as well prepared for your surgical treatment as you should have been. We have established a special pre-surgery class for patients who are about to undergo knee or hip replacements. All patients should be able to attend this class before surgery as it ensures that you have received all of the important information about your surgery and recovery, and have had the opportunity to ask questions before you come in to hospital. I am sorry that you were not offered the opportunity to attend this session. I have asked my admissions team to ensure that all future patients are booked in to the joint recovery sessions, and we have put in place extended capacity for these classes from January 2013.

I was sorry to read of the difficulties and frustrations you experienced with your bedside TV service. This service is provided by Hospedia, and their customer care line is 0845 414 1234. I have passed your concerns on to the team in UCLH who manage our contract with Hospedia.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful