"Long, painful wait but good care in EAU"

About: John Radcliffe Hospital

What I liked

Visited twice with severe suspected food poisoning. First visit (3 days into constant D&V with blood and high grade fever) I was seen by a lovely out-of-hours GP. She did listen to me eventually when I said I was desperate for stronger anti-vomiting medication so I could try and keep my prescribed meds down (I have an existing condition).

Second visit (4 days into constant D&V, high grade fever and now moderate dehydration) I was assessed very quickly, admitted instantly and received the treatment I needed. Nursing staff were under pressure and so didn't have a lot of time, but were courteous. The Dr I saw was wonderful, really sympathetic.

What could be improved

The waiting area was extremely hot and poorly ventilated (that said, I did have a fever pushing 40'C). Unfortunately it was also not very clean. I myself was sick on the floor and cleaned it up as best I could, but can't be sure that a cleaner followed up.

Reception staff were brusque and didn't offer sick bowl (hence vomit on floor!).

Very long wait which was uncomfortable and humiliating when throwing up every 10 minutes in front of 30 other people. I worry that I might have infected someone.

Unfortunately I should probably have been admitted on day 3 of my ordeal, thus saving time and resources, since I was in a far worse state by the time I was admitted on day 4. However, I know beds are scarce and management is keen to send people home/to their GP so I don't blame the staff on the ground.

Anything else?

Generally the care was good.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from John Radcliffe Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience of the John Radcliffe Hospital Emergency Department. We are really pleased that you were happy with the doctor who treated you, and with the standard of care you received in general.

However, we are very sorry that you were so unhappy with other aspects of your experience; your comments have been passed on to the management of the Emergency Department. Feedback of this kind from our patients is invaluable in helping us to improve the services we provide.

Unfortunately, we are not able to look into your particular circumstances unless you feel you would like to get in touch with us in person. You may wish to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service, Monday to Friday 9.00am - 4.00pm on 01865 221473 / 740868, who will be happy to help should you wish to follow up your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful