"very poor care for older people"

About: Bedford Hospital South Wing

What could be improved

I visited my elderly uncle. He was kept in an annexe from A+E (Fulwood Ward) which was more like a cupbaord for more than a day. He wasnt given care that was calming, he didnt seem to have basic care such as being washed, dressed or have his teeth in. Food seemed a worry as a newly diagnosed diabetic he wasnt given timely explanation or support. There seemed to be very poor attention to patients privacy and dignity as I could walk around A+E (unchallenged) and aptients were on trolleys in corridors and in cubicles exposed.

He was transferred eventually to a ward where they didnt spot his acute retention of urine despite being given clues which meant he could not sleep and became more agitated and delerious. There were pointless rules that staff followed that didnt allow specialist support for his continence.

Another member of our family is also sick and receiving poor care from Bedford Hospital. Coordination and communication between specialists doesnt seem to happen even with basic but really important appointments.

I feel very upset about the standards at this Trust. It is hard to find real positives. I would not recommend this Trust but my family seems stuck with their services.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bedford Hospital South Wing

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our NHS Choices site. We would like you to contact us via our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on pals@bedfordhospital.nhs.uk or 01234 795814 so we can look into the concerns you have raised around your family members' care and experience at the hospital. We pride ourselves on providing excellent care and want to hear about any problems so they can be quickly resolved. Please do contact us so we can address the issues you have raised.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful