"stressful and not one i want to repeat ever"

About: Lister Hospital

What I liked

Consultant was pleasant and courteous

What could be improved

I waited over an hour with my three year old son, the waiting room was heaving - around 100 people in the fracture clinic, so it was hugely stressful.

there weren't enough chairs for people with broken legs to sit down.

The reception staff don't answer the phone so you can't get through to them if you need to contact them about the appointment or even ask where the clinic is. in the clinic they were unhelpful. i asked them why they didn't answer the phone and they said it was because there was a queue of people so they don't answer in that situation.

on arrival there were no parking spaces, lift was broken and I ended up walking down five flights of stairs in the the multi story with my injured son.

as soon as I got home i had a phone call asking why i hadn't shown up for the appointment. I'd just left there an hour earlier!

the experience was really stressful

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

We're sorry that this was your experience - please accept our apologies. By their very nature, fracture clinics will always be very busy places but the problem at the Lister is that the existing clinic is now too small. This is why, as part of the £19.3 million redevelopment of the hospital's emergency department now underway, the Lister will be getting a much bigger and better fracture clinic - incidentally this is also the reason why you can no longer park in front of A&E because of the building project.

Whilst this promises a much better environment for the future, your feedback still suggests that more immediate changes should be considered that will help make the existing service better in the interim - we'll share your comments with the team involved to see what can be done in the short term.

Finally, we're sorry that the lift in the multi-storey car park was not work - the engineers are attending to it, but the problem involved is taking much more time to fix than we would like.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful