"Turned away (fair enough) but then charged for it!"

What I liked

I have used Queen Mary's previously and I have been impressed with the care. On this occasion we couldn''t be treated.

What could be improved

A response to my email. Unfortunately, we were too late for the minor injuries unit, which had just closed when we arrived. This was obviously our fault for not knowing the opening times (but we are from outside of the area), however, we were charged £1.70 for 5 minutes parking. I did contact the hospital following our visit, but am still to receive a reply. We might not have had a refund, but was disappointed not to have received a reply either way. Perhaps the hospital could consider not charging for the first 15 minutes for parking in the evening - as I'm sure we're aren't the first people to have parked without knowing the unit was shut.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Marys Hospital (roehampton)

Thank you for letting us know about your problem with parking when you visited Queen Mary's.

We would like to refund your parking charges in full. Please email me (tom.magill@stgeorges.nhs.uk) your contact details, and I'll have someone contact you as soon as possible.

I understand how frustrating it can be when you're charged for such a brief stay, and also have difficulty contacting someone to discuss your problem. I would be interested to know who you contacted regarding your problem, and where you got this information; we may need to update our contact details.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful