"Service was good but parking is too costly"

About: Sutton Hospital

Anything else?

Attended opthalmic casualty with partner on referal from GP.

Understood that a wait may be involved but do not think it reasonable in those circumstances to have to pay £2 per hour parking whist doing so. Service was good overall but we left there £8 poorer. Surely there is a better way of ensuring that patients costs are somehow kept at a more reasonable level.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sutton Hospital

Thank you for your feedback about the care you received from the ophthalmology team at Sutton Hospital.

I am pleased you were happy with the care and I'll pass your comment on to the team.

I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the cost of the parking. This is of course an issue other patients raise and, with this in mind, there is a dedicated section on our website which explains why we charge for parking and how the funds are used. It also explains how some patients can get exemptions from the costs or discounted rates. You can read it here: http://www.epsom-sthelier.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors/getting-to-us/parking-at-the-trusts-hospitals/.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Pippa Hart

Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful