"The delivery suite was outstanding, but the..."

About: Horton General Hospital

What I liked

The staff on the delivery suite were outstanding. My midwife was professional but friendly, and the team of doctors did everything they could to give me a natural birth.

What could be improved

The care I received on the post-natal ward was very unsatisfactory. The midwives/nurses were rude and unhelpful, and I decided to discharge myself because of their lack of care. I asked for help with breastfeeding and very little help was given. The midwife then seemed annoyed that I was tearful because I was exhausted after giving birth and struggling with feeding. One midwife told me to stay in bed until I was helped up, whilst another was telling me I should have got myself up. I was not even told where to go for mealtimes. I was told I should stay overnight but I discharged myself because I had received so little attention I saw little point in staying. I then had to wait for over two hours whilst they sorted out the paperwork (apparently they could not work the new computer system). Before I left, the midwife told me I was very likely to suffer from postnatal depression, apparently because I had been exhausted and a little bit tearful (mainly because of the way I had been treated). This was not what I imagined my first day with my newborn baby would be like.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Horton General Hospital

Thank you for posting your comments - we are pleased that your experience in the delivery suite was a positive one. We are sorry however to learn of your concerns once transferred to the post-natal ward. Your comments have been drawn to the attention of the appropriate staff. We value all feedback - the positive comments show us where we are getting things right and those that are not quite so positive, show us where we may still have work to do. Unfortunately, because of the limited information we have via this medium, we cannot investigate as fully as we would wish, but if you would like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01295 229259 they will be happy to investigate your concerns further. The office is open Monday to Friday 900am - 4.00pm. Alternatively, you may wish to email them at PALSHH@ouh.nhs.uk. Once again thank you for contacting us via NHS Choices and hope both you and your baby are progressing well.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful