"Very welcoming, don't dread going there but would..."

About: Worcestershire Royal Hospital

What I liked

The HCA's and Staff nurses could not be faulted at all, very approcable. I have been in and out following a brain injury and have been on Avon 1 and 2 as well as Hazel truma and othopedic. During all of these wards I was treated well and have a ongoing relationship that is professional but with numorous vists you get made to feel welcomed- if you can get welcomed into a ward!!

What could be improved

Staff seemed very low on the ground at times staff nurses wouldn't assist HCA's undertake duties and this was very apparent during wash times when I wasn't washed until 4pm on one occasion, this was due to shortage of staff; Also due to short staff I was left on a bed pan for a long time having pressed the button. Also soup in the same mugs as water was horrid- water/ aspargus soup isn't a pleasant combination. Is it possible to have separate sippy cups??

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worcestershire Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your feedback. It is lovely to hear of the high levels of care, treatment and professionalism you received from staff in our hospital.

We sincerely apologise that you were left for a long time after pressing your call bell. In the last two weeks we have increased our staffing levels and are looking to recruit further in the near future. Usually separate mugs or bowls are used for serving water and soup, we apologise that you were served these in the same mug, this was unintentional and we will use these comments to ensure this is not repeated.

Your comments have been passed onto staff within the team who will use this information to ensure that we can continue to improve the experience for our patients and visitors.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful