"Disappointed because the medical staff are great"

About: Manor Hospital

What I liked

My mum had a fall in the town and fractured her hip. She was unaware that she had done it and only went to hospital a week later when it started to feel a bit more painful. She had surgery the same evening and her care from the surgeon, doctors and nurses was excellent during her stay in the hospital. They couldn't do enough for her and their attitude towards myself and my sister was brilliant. They explained eerything that they were doing for her and we were kept informed on a daily basis.

What could be improved

The problems started when she was discharged. My sister was out of the country with her work and I was due to do jury service for 2 weeks, so we were both very worried about her discharge back home. We were assured that she wouldn't be sent home until one of us was available to help and someone had been to assess her house, but this did not happen. She was sent to her sister's house for a few days while we were both away then when she did come home Social Services refused to come and do an assessment. We are still waiting, and now it is nearing the middle of June. She cannot put any weight on her leg, her washing facilities and toilet are upstairs, she can't leave her house and neither me or my sister can lift her to get her out of the house, which we will need to do when she has to go to hospital for a follow up x-ray very soon. No-one has advised her about her dressing on the wound, if it needs to be changed or left alone. No-one has advised her on any physio or if there is any need for it. The after care at this hospital is rubbish. The worst thing of all is if you try phoning they just say she's home now and it's not their problem any more.

Anything else?

I feel sorry for the doctors and nurses. They do such a good job but the experience is ruined by the aftercare or lack of it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manor Hospital

Thank you for posting your feedback. I’m glad to hear you were happy with the care your mother received during her stay in hospital and it’s good to hear you felt informed and cared for by our staff. Being discharged from hospital is an important aspect of care and it’s disappointing that this did not go smoothly. We are currently working hard to develop integrated pathways for community services, and although we do not provide social services care, we are do have close links with them to ensure care is coordinated. If you are concerned that your mother requires further care, please contact our Patient Relations Team on 01922 656463 who will be able to advise you on the appropriate team to speak to.

Kind regards

Kathryn Halford

Associate Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful