"Edward Myers Centre - a very good service"

About: North Staffordshire Combined Healthcare NHS Trust / Addiction services

(as a service user),

I have spent time in the Edward Myers Centre over the last month. It was very good, the staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean and they did everything they could to meet my needs.

It was a bit boring at times. They do run activities but I'm not able to get involved in most of them. There is a TV in the east room but I would have really appreciated a radio too.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, all I had to do was ask and they would help.

My only complaint is one about the building, plumbing specifically. There is no cold water, even the water used for meds is warm. The cold water runs warm! We did flag this up to staff and they said they'd flagged it up to facilities but as yet nothing's been done.

But that's all I have to say that's not positive, everything else was good. Even on being discharged, I had a discharge plan which was written with my input and it was made clear to me that I could contact them anytime if I needed help.

A very good service.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Staffordshire Combined Healthcare NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience of the Edward Myers Unit. It is pleasing to hear that you think the service was very good and that the staff were helpful and you felt involved in your care and eventual discharge planning. I will ensure these comments are passed onto the team.

Cleanliness is obviously very important and I will also ensure that your comments are passed onto domestic staff.

I'm sorry to hear that you were a bit bored at times. This is something that we are constantly trying to improve and based on feedback from previous service users we have purchased equipment for outdoor activities and are currently looking at gardening opportunities. We are grateful to hear of any ideas you have for improving the activities as you say you were unable to get involved in some of the activities. Your suggestion regarding the radio will be taken on board.

I have spoken to the ward regarding the difficulties you experienced getting cold water. Tina the Ward Manager says that this has been bought to her attention and she is currently trying to rectify this issue.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

With kind regards

Pat Fraser

Patient Experience / PALS Lead

(on behalf of staff at the Edward Myers Unit)

Response from Kathryn Rhead, Patient Experience Team, North Staffordshire Combined Healthcare NHS Trust We have made a change

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and views of the services and the Edward Myers Centre. We value the feedback we receive to improve and develop our services.

We have purchased a radio and this is available for patients to use upon request. We are now looking into having a water cooler on the ward and will update you when this is in place. It is great to hear that your experience was a positive one and that you were involved in planning your own discharge. Please be assured that your feedback will be passed on to the rest of the team.

With kind regards and thanks,

Tina Mottram

Centre Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful