"Unhappy with Tameside booking office"

About: Tameside General Hospital / Diabetic medicine

(as the patient),

Arrived for an 11.15 appointment with the diabetic clinic and waited until 11.45 only to be told that they were going to be 1 hour later due to what I believe was the incompetance of the appointment booking office. In effect they double booked and so the diabetic clinic and staff were put in the position of having to try and deal with 40+ patients rather than 20+. This is the second time in succession that this has happened.

It's my view that the booking office cancel or change appointments at will with little or no notice to the patient. Indeed I myself was referred back to my GP because the booking office tried to claim that I had not attended an appointment which as it turned out they themselves cancelled?

It appears that they are unable to appreciate that we as patients also have lives outside of our respective illnesses/disabilities and seem to think that it will be ok for the patient to wait around, nor does it feel they take into account the travel and parking costs incurred in order to attend said appointment.

Consequently information gathered by the patient for the consultant and vice versa becomes outdated and obsolete, This also means that when appointments are changed at the last minute it is the patient who suffers because it generally means a further 1-2 month wait before a consultant is seen. So how can the patient be expected to maintain a good standard of general health? And more so how can the consultant be expected to ensure that the standard is maintained?

I attended Tameside HQ and requested to see the chief executive in order to seek an explanation however I was told they were unavailable and referred to another member of staff, who although somewhat bureaucratic in their manner did attempt to rectify my problem

Personally I am not happy with Tameside Hospital and I am going to take action to transfer my medical needs elsewhere.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from John Goodenough, Director of Nursing, Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry that you had a poor experience at Tameside General Hospital. Thousands of clinics are managed each year and your experience was not typical of the experiences of the majority of our patients.

We are pleased that your problem was quickly rectified, and once again please accept our apologies. We always try to learn from the feedback of patients and hope that you will consider using Tameside General Hospital again.

With every best wishes

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing at philip.dylak@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful