About: Lerwick Health Centre

(as the patient),

I eventualy got a good doctor who i thought was actually helping me with my condition after a number of wrong diagonses. The doctor got me in, gave me treatment, called me in.

I said it was all good at the moment, the doctor said this was excellent but any trouble and I could phone back.

Then a wk later my sypmtoms came back. I phoned the doctor and they said they were going on holiday in 3 days and I was to get another doctor. I was surprised and disappointed, they seemed to be so helpful but it now seemed that because they were going on holiday they didn't care??

So then i go to the walk in clinic at Lerwick sit for 2 hours, my time is very precious as i work 3 jobs, so to sit there for 2 hours then get told they would phone me and they havnt is very annoying. So i sat for 2 hours, saw a different doctor, they aid they would phone me bk but that was a wk ago and still no call. So in the meantime I'm sat with my symptoms in pain.

It's not acceptable. I am going away on holiday and was hoping the health system up here could help me.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Carolyn Hand, Corporate Services Manager/Complaints Officer, Chief Executive's Department, NHS Shetland

I am sorry that you have experienced difficulties. Unfortunately, without knowing who has left this feedback I am unable to make specific comments. However, the GPs try three times to call patients back and if there is no response, they will either leave a message (if consent has been given to do so) or else they will record in the notes that they have tried to make contact and been unsuccessful. With regards to a GP going on holiday, the GPs do have annual leave to take and if the GP in question had no routine appointments left to give the patient and the patient did not feel it was urgent, the advice given was correct – to make an appointment to see a different GP who would be able to assess the patient and continue care if this was required over the coming weeks. If you would like to contact me, I can of course look into this further.

Lisa Sutherland, Service Manager Primary Care 01595 743209

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful