"B3 at Salford royal"

About: Salford Royal

(as a friend),

After suffering a stroke my friend was transferred to B3. We knew it would not be like HDU, however on transfer she was left slumped in bed with gown not covering her, mattress to help with pressure was left unplugged, fluids not started again. She did not have her flowtrons in place for 24 hours.We complained and nurses told us they were understaffed. Once staff had time they dislodged her feeding tube meaning another xray was required. The lack of care was reported to ward manager. 

The next day we visited in the afternoon. Sue looked comfortable and clean. We left at 8pm. At 9pm we were contacted by phone to say she was being transferred to Fairfield. I asked when and was told in next 4 hours I questioned this, a patient who has suffered a severe stroke and had had surgery was being transferred in the middle of the night, I was told patients can be 24 hours a day. I asked if I could come and sit with my firend until transfer but was told no. 

Is it Trust policy to transfer vulnerable patients at any time ? 

I think this ward needs more staff to improve patient safety and care. blaming the nurses will not help. Look at your staffing and retention. 

HDU care was excellent, staffing was correct.

More about:

Responses

Response from Salford Royal

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We value all comments as it helps us to continuously improve our service.

We are so sorry to hear about your friends experience on B3 and subsequent transfer to Fairfield General and can appreciate your concerns.

We have escalated this to the senior team in this area. If you haven't, please can we encourage you to our PALS team so that we can give you some answers to the points you have raised.

You contact our PALS team on 0161 206 2003 or via email to pals@srft.nhs.uk between the hours of 08:30 and 16:30, Monday to Friday.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;