"Cleanliness and food"

About: University Hospital Hairmyres / General Surgery

(as a staff member posting for a patient/service user),

Hospital is bogging and room in Ward 6 has not been cleaned since I arrived 5 days ago.

No place in shower room to hang toiletries or clothes. Having to use shower seat or floor.

Some staff are really rude. (the attitude, if I buzz for help or pain killers- took 5 minutes to respond was told ok then had to buzz again. When the nurse came I was told they were dealing with a sick patient.  Instead of being compassionate and saying they would get someone else to get it, I was just left.

Food is awful. Every single day a baked potato, Omelette or sandwich.  So repetitive. Meals at night are just as bad and bland. Mashed potatoes are grey in colour.

Drs are very clever but some do not have a bedside manner and are very condescending which upset me greatly.

Just seen domestic staff for the first time come in and wash the floor (partially then brush when floor was still wet)

Never got a drink from breakfast until 12: 40 with lunch yesterday as they did not have anyone to give out tea/coffee. Same happened after Lunch, never had anything until dinner.


Response from Karen Phillips, Senior Nurse, Surgical and Critical Care, University Hospital Hairmyres, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Karen Phillips

Dear Maggiemoo,

Thank you for your recent care opinion post. However I am deeply disappointed by the issues you have raised relating to Ward 6, at University Hospital Hairmyres.

Could I please ask that you give me a call on 01355585000, Extention 4664. I would like the opportunity to discuss these matters with you so that we can look into the issues fro you.

Hope to hear from you soon

Kind Regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from William McCutcheon, Head of Business Support, Property Support Services Division, Law House, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of William McCutcheon

Dear Maggiemoo

Thank you for your recent care opinion post. In relation to your comments about patient catering we can advise that we are constantly striving to improve the standard of catering within the hospital, however, there are a number of reasons why some patients will, understandably, not be totally satisfied with the meal they receive. This includes personal preference, side effects arising from medication and general ill health affecting appetite.

In addition all meals on our menu have been assessed by dieticians to ensure they offer the appropriate nutritional intake and balance for patients and comply with national guidelines. Ward staff do encourage family members to bring meals in for their loved ones as nursing staff are aware that during a patient’s admission the food can be repetitive and less appealing to them and they find that this can make all the difference to a patient’s rehabilitation and recovery.

I would like to apologise unreservedly that the standard of cleanliness you observed was not acceptable.



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Clare Mitchell, Interim Head of Infection Prevention & Control, NHS Lanarkshire, NHS Lanarkshire

Dear maggiemoo,

I was disappointed that the cleanliness of your room in ward 6 at University Hospital Hairmyres was not to an acceptable standard. The Infection Prevention and Control Team expect a high level of environmental hygiene and welcome any feedback from patients when they feel this standard has fallen short.

The Infection Prevention & Control Nurses carry out regular audits within ward 6 and all wards and departments and feedback to the nursing staff and Healthcare cleaning team any areas for improvement. Today one of the team visited the ward and carried out a walk round with the Senior Charge Nurse and they were reassured that the hygiene standards were being met at this time. I hope you will be reassured that we will continue with our regular audits and checks to ensure the hygiene standards of ward 6 and all wards will be maintained.

If you require any further information from the Infection Prevention and Control Team please call me on 01698 366 309



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful