"Left concerned as doctor used auroscope without..."

About: Ilkeston Community Hospital

What I liked

I was able to get an appointment and was seen by a doctor within the same 24hours

What could be improved

One doctor was dismissive and had spoken to the reception staff within my earshot about berating them on some other issue before calling me in for the consulation. They seemed rushed and disinterested - I felt like I was wasting their time about an ear infection I'd picked up after a recent chest infection but as I am articulate and well educated I was able to push them for more explanantions and information. I would be concerned for people in the same situation who might not have the confidence or ability (language barriers, diabilities, etc) to leave the consultation with all their concerns and questions answered in a way they could understand.

Most concerning to me, although I admit I did not pick them up on this, the doctor never washed their hands before examining me and they used the auroscope in the infected ear before swiftly putting it into my good ear - possible infection hazard. I was feeling so unwell and by then a little upset that I didn't feel confident to pick them up on either the poor hand hygiene (they'd been on the computer as I walked in) or the way they examined me. I went home feeling vulnerable and concerned that there might be a chance of cross infection from the painful infected ear to the good one. As it turned out, it was an inner ear infection and I recovered after I eventually got another appointment with a spacialist who conducted more thorough tests in terms of the actual inner ear infection and they ensured I had the correct medication.

Anything else?

Although the building is bright and clean and cheerful, I left feeling more concerned than I arrived due to the doctor's rushed manner, their previous converstaions with other staff before I was called into the consultation and the issue around poor hand hygiene etc. It makes me concerned about the possibility of more serious infections such as the hospital rate for MRSA and CDiff.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lisa Hallam, Patient Support Officer, Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Foundation Trust

I am so sorry to hear about your experience of using this service. It is now a priority that we understand exactly what happened and are able to learn from you. We need to make any improvements we can to ensure that all of our patients are treated safely, effectively and with compassion.

I would very much value the opportunity to hear from you directly. I hope you feel able to call the patient experience team on 01773 525119 so that we can take the full details of your case and undertake a full investigation.

We take your feedback very seriously. Once again I am sorry that your experience of using these services was not positive.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful