"Disgraceful lack of basic nursing care."

About: Kent & Canterbury Hospital

What could be improved

Personal care to patient.

Assistance with food and drink.

Assistance to wash.

Anything else?

Elderly lady inpt on medical ward for 11 days. Not washed. Certainly hair not washed at all. Not assisted with meals despite having little/no sight and being confused; resulting in obvious weight loss when her son showered her at home on day of discharge.

No history of weight record on EDN

Fresh 3 finger mark bruise on arm left by ward staff.

Generally not good. Poor experience for whole family.

Planning for discharge home a shambles and family left distraught and worn out buy whole process.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kent & Canterbury Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback, I was disappointed to read about the experience you had recently at the Kent and Canterbury Hospital.

On the occasions when we don’t meet our normally high standards we try to learn from experiences so that we can improve the care for our future patients, if you would like to make a formal complaint you can do so by contacting our Patient Experience Team either by telephone 01227 783145 or via email at patientexperience@ekht.nhs.uk

many thanks

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful