"disturbing application of do not attempt..."

About: Kent & Canterbury Hospital

What I liked

treatment on 31st May in Invicta Ward was good. Good communication with relatives.

What could be improved

It took a long time for the report on the CT scan to come back to CDU and for decision to be made about discharge or move to a ward. Communication was poor and 18 hours in emergency care/cdu is a long time.

We are not happy with a "Do Not Attempt Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation " form included with medication form and discharge notes.J is adamant that he was not asked about resuscitation.

His wife is upset that no attempt was made to contact her. She had returned home from Emergency care/CDU at 6.00am and was right by the phone. No call was made.

There is no consideration or information sought about the general cardiac health of the patient, that clotting is a known side-effect of the smallcell carcinoma and/or chemotherapy, that this was the first such episode or that symptoms have improved significantly since the first cycle of chemotherapy.

the guidelines laid down for DNR orders do not appear to have been followed

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kent & Canterbury Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback, I was disappointed to read about the experience you had recently. On the occasions when we don’t meet our normally high standards we try to learn from experiences so that we can improve the care for our future patients, if you would like to make a formal complaint you can do so by contacting our Patient Experience Team either by telephone 01227 783145 or via email at patientexperience@ekht.nhs.uk

Many thanks

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful