"Very good but every person has the responsibility..."

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

What I liked

I had a lumpectomy 5weeks ago and I cannot speak more highly of the compassion with which I was treated from finding the lump,the way that terrible news was imparted to me,explanation of what lay ahead, availabilty of staff to answer questions,care from pre surgery through to post surgery. Amazing. Since then I was compassionately told that I would need a mastectomy and an MRI scan on another cyst. Devastating news which has left me in sea of emotions but again compassionately and thoughtfully dealt with.

What could be improved

Yesterday I had an appointment for an MRI scan

I felt nervous but felt re-assured by all that had gone before.

My husband and I arrived 8 minutes before the planned appointment. There was no-one on the reception desk but another patient told me that a nurse had already been out to call my name. My husband went to the door of the unit to let them know we were here.

A nurse then greeted us by telling us off and telling us that we were late! When we pointed out that it was still not the appointed time she told us off again! She said we should have been there 10 minutes early. I showed her the letter I had received which did not state this. She then argued with us and said patients are always told to be there 10 minutes early. By this time I was


She then asked for my questionnaire and told me off again for posting it to the department rather than bringing it with me. Evidently it had not been received. By this time I was tearful but she did not notice this.

Finally I had done something wrong. I had written on the questionnaire that I had had surgery 5weeks ago...... I admit I should have phoned. Another telling off.

By the time she left me I was shaking and crying.

A very very very compassionate Scottish radiologist then came to spend time with me. She had to spend some time calming me down. She even wiped my tears away before I was scanned. I streamed with tears the whole time I was in the scanner.

I could not stop the silent tears the rest of the day and I have had a very disturbed night.

I have never written a complaint before but this encounter wasted time, caused upset and released all of those emotions that I am trying to bring under control.

Anything else?

99.999percent of the treatment I have received has been wonderful and I am so grateful that The QE 2 hospital is caring for me. However, 1 person has caused terrible upset. I do not want anyone else to have to lie in that scanner crying.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

Although hugely pleased at the care you received in the QEII breast unit, we are very concerned at what happened in the MRI unit - such behaviour on the part of any member of our staff, irrespective of the circumstances is simply not acceptable. We were wondering if you would be willing to send us an e-mail to generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net. We feel this needs formal investigation because your experience of our MRI service falls way below what we would expect.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful