"My mum's stay in the Cavendish Unit"

About: Leigh Infirmary Mh Oupatients Clinic / Women's Mental Health Unit

(as a relative),

I went to visit my mum for the first time today. They had 4 staff for 25 patients, the standard seemed very poor. I felt it was dirty as well.

My mum is suffering from depression and I didn't recognise her when i went to visit. She hasn't eaten in a week there, but still they are giving her her medication which is extremely dangerous.

We have waited over a week for a transfer for her to the Brooker Centre in Runcorn as that's where I am from. I don't drive. I can easily visit there but she doesn't feel safe at all at the hospital.

3 patients flipped on staff while I was there and it took the staff 10 minutes to come to the people and sort it out. I was scared and god knows how my mum felt. I would never recommend Leigh hospital to anyone.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Donna Robinson, Business manager - Adult services Wigan, Operations, 5 Boroughs Partnership NHS Foundation Trust


I am very concerned to read of your experience whilst visiting your mother on Cavendish Ward at Leigh Infirmary.

I have had the opportunity to speak to the ward manager prior to responding to the issues you have raised. The ward manager was concerned to read that you thought there were only 4 staff on duty. I can confirm there was the minimum staffing level of 6 staff on duty, however this may not have been obvious to you at the time if the staff were busy with patients outside of the ward environment.

With respect to the cleanliness of the ward, audits have shown a high level of cleanliness which has improved since the introduction of ward based housekeepers. Due to your concerns the ward managers will review this and bring your concerns to the attention of the housekeepers.

I have also been assured by the ward manager that whilst appetite can decrease during an inpatient stay, there are no patients on the ward at this time that have not eaten for the past week. However if you feel this is not accurate I do encourage you to raise these concerns when you visit your mum or via telephone to the ward. I am happy to confirm that a transfer to Brooker centre has now been arranged and apologise if this delay has caused you any inconvenience.

We understand that any admission may be frightening for patients and their relatives. I understand there were some incidents on the ward recently which you may have observed. Staff work hard to reassure patients and their safety is paramount, however we cannot control the responses of some individuals when they are unwell although do appreciate the impression this may portray.

I am very sorry you have not had a positive experience, however if you wish to discuss your concerns individually with me please do not hesitate to get in touch on 01942 264622

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful