"Stressful, frustrating and very upsetting."

About: Northwick Park Hospital

What I liked

The clinician I saw was very nice.

What could be improved

The reception/admin staff within the department are absolutely appalling.

I arrived early for my appointment and signed in with the receptionist and they forgot to let the medical professional know that I had arrived, so I sat in the waiting room for almost an hour waiting to be called. When I questioned whether they had let anyone know that I had arrived, they shouted at me "Your clinic is running late", but in reality, they had forgotten to send my notes through, so the relevant people didn't know I was there. When this came to light, the receptionist refused to apologise to me, even though they could see that I was extremely distressed and therefore I was very agitated and upset going into my appointment which meant that my procedure took longer because I was very upset.

I was told that I would receive my results within 2-3 weeks of the date of my procedure. When this date passed, I called the hospital to find out whether they had been sent out to me. The receptionist was extremely rude to me and said that I would just have to "wait and see" if they turned up. A nurse then called me back and said that my letter had been sent out earlier that week. When I received my letter, I noted that it was written 10 days before I received it and that the postmark on the letter was actually the same day that I called to check whether my results were in, therefore both the nurse and recpetionist had lied to me about when my results had been sent to me.

It was necessary for me to reschedule my 2nd appointment and it took me approximately 4 phone calls to speak to the right person to get a new appointment, as apparently all rescheduled appointments need to be checked with the nurse beforehand, so I had to keep taking phonecalls in work.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northwick Park Hospital

We were sorry to learn of the concern and distress caused to you by your experiences with the Gynaecology service. Your feedback will be passed on to the management team for this area so that they can look into the issues you have raised and take appropriate action.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful