"Quick and efficient service."

About: Southmead Hospital

What I liked

I arrived at at 9.30am on a Sunday morning in the minor injury unit having gone over on my foot the night before and barely able to walk. Expecting a four hour wait and to be told I had a sprain I was pleasantly surprised to be seen within 10 minutes of my arrival and to be referred for a Xray immediately by the lovely male triage nurse. A short wait later I was told I had broken my 5th metatarsal, had a quick and effective training session on some crutches and an appointment was made for the next morning to see a consultant at Frenchay hospital. A very efficient service - I was in and out within an hour.

What could be improved

My only criticism is that apart from the triage nurse, I felt like I was a bit of an inconvenience. Yes, the service was efficient but it was not friendly - until that is it was proved I was not a time waster and then I got a smile. I could barely walk and yet, I was not offered any assistance and worse, the look of impatience on the Xray man's face as I hobbled into the room made me want to cry! A smile and being treated as a paying customer would have made my experience perfect. If I had staggered in drunk on a Saturday night I probably would have got more help walking! My other slight confusion was that I live a few miles away from the new multi million pound hospital (Southmead) and yet, had to travel miles away to Frenchay to be seen the next day.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Ms Zippy – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post details of your experience. I am pleased that you found the Minor Injuries Unit service quick and efficient, however I apologise you were not put at ease by the staff and that they appeared unwelcoming. This is certainly not the quality of customer service we expect.

I am sorry that the reason you had to be seen in Frenchay was not explained to you. Unfortunately specialist services are not yet provided from a single site and so until the new development of the Southmead site is complete it is necessary for some patients to transfer to Frenchay and vice versa.

Your comments have been passed on to the MIU.

Kinds regards – Steve Sykes

Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful