"Lovely Orthodontics staff, did what they could to..."

About: King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

What I liked

The Orthodontist was a lovely lady as well as a being utterly professional. She and her assistant were extremely thorough, caring, and helpful. They expressed every desire to treat me to the best of their ability.

It was wonderful that the Orthodontic Consultant tried to remind the Consultant in Restorative Dentistry that I needed urgent treatment from him, before she could begin her work. She urged me to write to him for a second time, as I had been waiting for treatment for 2 years even though I had been assessed as needing treatment 'urgently'. She informed me that there may have been an over-sight, as there was no reason for me to wait for such a long time and be in so much pain.

The Orthodontic Consultant was very kind, she went home late after trying to find the Restorative Dentistry Consultant and hand him my file in person. Unfortunately, I did not hear from his office and I was not offered an appointment for treatment to begin. I have continued to wait for almost 3 years for 'urgent' treatment .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Jessica Bush, Head of Engagement and Patient Experience, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on NHS Choices. I am only sorry that I didn't respond earlier to your comments. Unfortunately there was a little glitch in the system which meant that we didn't receive the normal alert which tells us when someone has posted a comment. I am sorry that you have had some difficulties with your treatment. If you do still need any assistance in dealing with this, please do get in touch with King's Patient Advice and Liaison Service who will do their best to help you Tel 0203 299 4826.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on NHS Choices. I am only sorry that I didn't respond earlier to your comments. Unfortunately there was a little glitch in the system which meant that we didn't receive the normal alert which tells us when someone has posted a comment. I am sorry that you have had some difficulties with your treatment. If you do still need any assistance in dealing with this, please do get in touch with King's Patient Advice and Liaison Service who will do their best to help you Tel 0203 299 4826.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful