"i thnk that once you have dementia you become less..."

About: Rotherham Hospital

What I liked

My Mother was admitted on Saturday with DVT, and placed on a general care ward whilst they treated her condition, she also suffers with Lewy Body Dementia, which the staff was informed of on her arrival, prior to her been admitted she has been loosing weight due to her refusing to eat her food which has been a concern with us and the care home she was in, this was also relayed back to the nursing staff on the ward, and a special Diet was recommended as well as a Complan drink, mum was also refusing her daily medication, which made it difficult for the staff to give her the right care.

After speaking with a senior Nurse 5 days after been admitted and explaining her recent change in moods and aggressiveness, she agreed that a referral to the Mental Health doctor mum was under for more investigation and while ever mum was refusing to eat and her weight loss still ongoing that she wouldn't be discharged until they had got this under control especially with her DVT .

So i was shocked to learn that they had discharged her the following day with the promise of a community nurse to visit her at home to give her the injections she needed to treat her DVT.

What could be improved

the Level of care from the staff would have been nice, on Sunday after my mums admittance to hospital i went up to who i though was a senior charge nurse to ask about my mums care plan, to be rudely told to find a nurse as it wasn't his ward? it was Wednesday before i got some sort of reassurance from the Senior Nurse on the ward, and thought that things were moving into the right direction, only to find that my mum was discharged less than 24 hours later with out the correct information or relevant Pink Drug card for the community nurse to give my mum the drug she needed to treat her DVT.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Grace Oldfield, Patient Involvement Manager, Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Dear debbiegail, thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your comments on the NHS Choices website. We were very concerned to learn that your Mother had been discharged back to her care home before the actions you understood would be undertaken were. In order for us to best address the concerns you have raised, we would really appreciate you making direct contact with our Patients Services Department, who have been made aware of your concerns, on either complaints@rothgen.nhs.uk or by telephone on 01709 424461.

With best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful