"Terrible nightmare."

About: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

What could be improved

The whole experience was awful. The staff were often unhelpful and some of the time I felt the care was so bad that it put my wife and daughter at risk. My wife was allowed no dignity, given no respect and large mistakes were made in her care. Some of the staff were even working from the wrong due date and saying the wrong condition and refused to listen when we tried to explain that it wasn't correct.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Chesterfield Royal Hospital

I am really saddened to read your description of the maternity cre your wife received. It sounds as though you had an awful experience. I can't work out from your comment if your new baby has been born or if this was ante-natal or emergency care. However, I would like the opportunity to try and resolve your concerns - so we can see what we need to learn from what happened to you (and to understand what we need to do to improve). I hope you will be able to take the time to call our Advice Centre team on 01246 512640 and give them the full details. Our chief executive will then ensure a full investigation is carried out. I hope this offers some assurance that we take concerns seriously and do our best to put things right. Regrettably we cannot now change your experience of services on this occasion, but I hope we can improve for others. With best wishes Sarah Turner-Saint, Head of Communications

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful