"Could the hospital better predict waiting times and communicate better with patients?"

About: New Victoria Hospital / Day surgery

(as the patient),

I arrived at the New Victoria early in the morning as I was booked in for nasal surgery. I arrived half an hour early just to be sure.

6 hours later, I went in for surgery.

I wasn't informed at all as to what was going on, what time I'd be seen, where I was in the queue - I was the only person in the waiting room.

The surgery went well, it took a couple of hours and the environment was very clean. To be honest, the overall experience of the surgery and care was excellent, so I'm not complaining. I just think there must be a better way to predict waiting times, and the staff could, in my view, probably be better at communicating with waiting patients.

I'm hitting my later years, and am fit as a fiddle - I've rarely needed health services and so I'm just sharing my feedback because I think it's always good to give feedback.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Paul Cannon, Head of Administration, Acute Services Division, Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, as you say providing feedback is very important and I am very glad you have taken the time and trouble to do so.

Although you have stressed that your care was not at issue, and your very positive comments are most welcome, I have noted that we could have done better by ensuring that you were kept updated in relation to your treatment timetable.

I have no doubt that Day Surgery staff will reflect on your experience and do what they can to improve on this. They will be alerted to this posting and this response. I also have no doubt that they will be pleased to read your other comments.

Once again thank you for posting your remarks. I hope that you continue to keep in excellent health.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful