"Awful and appalling treatment of an 81 year old"

About: Croydon University Hospital

What I liked

Let me be clear - this is about my father's treatment. He has Prostate Cancer. Liked? Nothing. As there really was nothing to like about how he has been treated in the last week.

What could be improved

His blood test could have been put in the correct bottle. That would have ensured his appointment was worthwhile and they had something to discuss. When he was sent for another blood test it would have helped to have been given the form needed, rather than the blood team sending him back for a form. It would have helped had my own GP not had to query the drug and agree with the hospital to change the actual drug prescribed.

Anything else?

My father had to wait over three weeks for the initial consultation.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

We are sorry for the poor experience your father had at his recent appointment. We understand that you have now made a formal complaint and you have been contacted by our Director of Operations who has apologised and is looking into all the issues you raise.

On a general note all the doctors who undertake Urology clinics are currently being assessed for their communication skills and are being given feedback so they can improve and all the clerical staff who support Urology Outpatients in patient-facing roles have been assessed for their customer care skills. Anyone who fails to reach a passmark is being given additional training.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful