About: Glenfield Hospital

What I liked

On arrival via A/E to CDU on the evening26th March 2012 i was sat in a chair for 7 hours,after being told by A/E i had a bed.In this time no pain relief was offered by GGH i was admitted with a ? PE. in lot of pain. After 6 hours of discomfort i complained to the shift mangement who's attitude leaves alot to be dissired.The only thing i liked about my visit to CDU at GGH was getting home.

What could be improved

Getting patints seen by a doctor quicker having a bed for comfort and the shift mangement having a better attitude towards patients and patients concerns.

Anything else?

All managers need to take a good luck at how patients are being left on chairs in pain for 7 hours.You dont even get this down A/E at L.R.I.and they were busy and rushed of their feet.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Glenfield Hospital

I am extremely sorry to hear of your experience of CDU on Monday 26th March. Thank you for raising your concerns and giving us the opportunity to respond.

It is our usual policy to see and assess patients before admitting them to a bed on the unit in order that the appropriate pathway of care can be arranged from them. During this time patients wait in the triage area and we endeavour to make them as comfortable as possible, but I am very sorry that you had to wait so long to see a doctor.

Monday evening was a particularly busy time for emergency admissions into the unit and as a result unfortunately patients had to wait longer than we would consider acceptable. Unfortunately I have insufficient clinical information to comment directly on your condition, but it would have been usual practice for your pain to be assessed in our emergency department and on arrival and appropriate pain relief medication offered to you, if required. I am sorry if this was not your experience.

You may have noticed that there is considerable building work being carried out at present. This is a project to increase the size of the patient waiting and triage area and the clinical space available for patients to be examined by a doctor. We anticipate that this will be ready at the end of April this year.

We would like the opportunity to investigate your concerns further to provide you with a more detailed response. If you would like us to do this please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PILS) free on 08081 788 337.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful