You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Initial assessment Aspergers Service The Pines"

About: Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust / Adult Mental Health Services - Community (City)

(as a parent/guardian),

I do not want to go into details as I have made a formal complaint against the Aspergers Service at The Pines, Bulwell Hospital which so far I have not received a satisfactory response.  

 

In a nutshell, my daughter was not treated well at all by this service, both her and myself are most disappointed and I would not encourage anyone else to use it, if they would be treated the way in which my daughter was.  

The staff there need to appreciate that they are dealing with adults who have 'Aspergers Syndrome', hence many people mask their condition, which includes their feelings; as professional staff they should be able to detect that.  

There is far too much of a 'bull in a China shop' approach, in my opinion.  

Maybe that was just my daughter's experience but I expect them to make much more of an effort to engage with clients more satisfactorily.  

From our experience, we expect professionals to act professionally and this was not the case.  This was most disappointing and I would be very reluctant to use the service myself and I know that my daughter feels exactly the same.  

The Aspergers Service is supposed to be 'helpful', not 'hopeless'.

Responses

Response from Tracey Gilford, Specialist Services General Manager, Specialist Services, Health Partnerships

Thank you for taking the time to post on Care Opinion. I was sorry to read that your experience was not a good one.

We really don’t want you and your daughter to feel disappointed with the service and we would like to help.

Because I can’t comment on the complaint you have made, please give me a call to discuss your feedback. Tel: 0115 8760119 Ext: 11910

Kindest regards

Tracey

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful